Keynote Speakers

D.K.C. MacDonald Memorial Lecture

 Hael Mughrabi

Prof. Haël Mughrabi

Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Click here to view his abstract!


Professor Haël Mughrabi received his PhD in physics from the University of Stuttgart in 1970. From 1966 till 1983 he worked at the Max Planck Institute of Metal Research in Stuttgart, as a researcher and later as a senior researcher, where he carried out fundamental research in metal physics, in the fields of crystal defects, mechanical properties and microstructural characterization. In 1978-79, he held a Visiting Professorship at Cornell University. In 1984, he joined the University of Erlangen- Nürnberg, as a professor of Materials Science and Engineering and Head of the Institute of General Materials Properties. In subsequent years, he held positions as Department Head of Materials Science and Engineering and Dean of the School of Engineering. Since 2002, Professor Mughrabi is formally retired but still active in various forms in research and in committee work.

Professor Mughrabi has published more than 300 papers and book chapters and has been editor/co-editor of several books and conference proceedings, mainly in the fields of crystal plasticity, materials characterization, metal fatigue, high-temperature mechanical properties of nickel-base superalloys and modelling of mechanical behaviour. In recent years, his main research interests were focused on ultrahigh cycle fatigue, mechanical properties of ultrafine-grained materials, geometrically necessary dislocations and basic problems of crystal plasticity. His research activities are acknowledged in ISI Highly Cited Researchers. He has been active in the organization and chairing of many international conferences and has frequently been invited as a plenary or keynote speaker. Professor Mughrabi is a member of a number of professional societies. He has been elected as an Honorary Member of the German Materials Society (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Materialkunde, DGM) and is the recipient of several national and international awards, including the highest award of DGM, the Heyn-Denkmünze, and an honorary doctoral degree from the Ruhr-University in Bochum.


Metal Physics Award

Prof. Nik Provatas

McGill University

Nikolas Provatas is a professor of physics at McGill University and holds a Canada Research Chair in Computational Materials Science. He is also the Scientific Director of the McGill High Performance Computing Centre. From 2001-2012, he was a professor of Materials Science and Engineering at McMaster University. From 1999-2001, he was a Research Scientist at the Pulp and Paper Research Institute of Canada. In 2007 and 2008 he was a visiting professor at the Technical University of Helsinki.

His research uses high-performance computing, dynamic adaptive mesh refinement techniques, condensed matter physics and experimentation to understand the fundamental origins of microstructure formation in materials processes. He has made scientific contributions in topics ranging from metal alloy solidification and solid-state transformations, combustion in heterogeneous materials, and paper science. His research has been published in high-impact scientific peer reviewed scientific journals and he has been invited to present his research and teach at numerous international conferences and workshops. He has lead or been a co-investigator on numerous industry-academic partnerships that have received funding from government sources and industry.

He is also collaborating with IBM Canada, VTT-Finland and numerous research groups in aerospace and mechanical engineering, neurology and genomics to develop a new high-performance computing platform for industry-academic computing.


Metal Chemistry Award

Prof. Igor Zhitomirsky

McMaster University

Dr. I. Zhitomirsky is a Professor at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and Distinguished Engineering Professor of the Faculty of Engineering at McMaster University. He received his Ph.D. degree from L.Ya.  Karpov Research Institute of Physical Chemistry (Moscow, Russian Federation) in 1985.  He is a primary author of more than 210 papers in peer-reviewed journals, more than 40 papers in proceedings of International meetings and 7 patents. 

His major research interests are in the field of electrochemical and colloidal nanotechnology for biomedical, energy storage, water purification, catalytic, electronic and corrosion protection applications.