CMSC Awards

Metal Chemistry Award & Metal Physics Award

The D.K.C. MacDonald Memorial Lecturer is an important part of the conference however the Lecturer is chosen by the Chair of the conference therefore this category is not open for nominations. View the history of the D.K.C. MacDonald Memorial Lecturer

Award Procedures- How to nominate a candidate

To contact the MetSoc office Tel.: (514) 939-2710, Email:
Please note that the awards process is confidential, and as such, we ask that no nominations be disclosed or discussed, except by those who are preparing and submitting the nomination.

Award Criteria

The Metal Chemistry Award
History: The Metal Chemistry Award was conceived by Professor H. Hancock of the Technical University of Nova Scotia in 1988 to recognize outstanding contributions to metallurgical chemistry as epitomized by the inaugural winner, Professor L.M. Pidgeon of the University of Toronto. Since the time of its inception the award has included recipients from universities, industry and government laboratories engaged in research activities ranging from hydrometallurgy, molten salt chemistry, corrosion and fundamental physical chemistry bearing upon smelting and refining processes.
Current criteria: For outstanding scientific contributions in the area of metal chemistry and distinguished service to the Canadian metal chemistry science community.

The Metal Physics Award

History: The Metal Physics Award was conceived by Professor T.S. Hutchison of the Royal Military College of Canada to recognize achievements in fundamental physics of importance to the understanding of metals as materials. At the time of its first award to Z.S. Basinski in 1977, the advancement of dislocation theory was the very essence of the kind of achievement the award was intended to recognize. Although the Award since that time has been awarded for excellence in a much broader range of research achievement including even advancement in non metallics.

Current criteria: For outstanding scientific contributions in the area of materials and distinguished service to the Canadian materials science community


Awards Guidelines

  1. Each award shall be made from time to time as circumstances warrant with no more than one award recipient per year.
  2. Nominations involving candidate participation may jeopardize the candidacy and result in rejection.
  3. All nominations will stand for 3 years.
  4. The adjudication of the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the CMSC.
  5. The CMSC Awards committee is composed of past recipients and chaired by the MetSoc Secretary. 
  6. The Secretary of MetSoc, after ensuring that all conditions of the award have been satisfied and that the procedures were followed, in turn forwards the nomination and its supporting documentation to the CMSC Awards Committee
  7. The nominations are then put to a vote by ballot of the committee. The ballot must include a “no award” option.
  8. The Award plaques are prepared by the MetSoc office and presented by the Conference Chairman, or designate, either at the close of the keynote address or awards banquet.
  9. Self nominations are not permitted.